DC Commission on the Arts and Humanities
Bookmark + Share Subscribe to this page

Theatre in Metro DC including Resident & Touring Companies

Find Metro DC theatre performances and schedules in CultureCapital including resident and touring theatre companies presenting drama, comedy, satire, musicals and the classics.

Browse Theatre By: All Theatre ... Children's (36) ... Classical (2) ... Comedy (24) ... Drama (11) ... Experimental (6) ... Improv (5) ... Musical (26) ... Opera (14) ... Repertory (1) ...

Hot Hits
Season Preview 2014-2015
DC theatre and performing arts presenters are announcing their 2014-2015 seasons. Check here for full information and subscription purchase options for DC presenters, including theatre, music and dance.
Disney's The Lion King
John F. Kennedy Center for the Performing Arts
Thru Sun, August 17
Winner of six Tonys including Best Musical, Disney's The Lion King returns! With direction and costumes by Julie Taymor, Elton John and Tim Rice's score brings the African Pridelands to life with "Circle of Life" and many more great songs.
Swing Time – The Musical!
Burke Theater: US Navy Memorial
Thu, July 31 thru Sun, November 30
Set in a World War II era radio studio, this lively musical revue features three men and three women who are working together to put on their live big-band war bond drive radio broadcast
Shear Madness
John F. Kennedy Center for the Performing Arts
Thru Thursday, December 31, 2015
Set today in the Shear Madness hairstyling salon, this record-breaking comedy is Washington's hilarious whodunit. After more than 11,000 performances, the show has stayed in great shape, keeping all the bounce, body, and shine of opening night.
Highlights
Defending the Caveman
Sat, August 2
Warner Theatre
Carrie: The Musical
Wed, July 30 thru Sun, August 3
Studio Theatre
The Tempest
Wed, July 30 thru Sun, August 3
Olney Theatre Center
Mestey Films Productions presents: ''The Ice Queen''
Sat, August 2 thru Sat, August 9
Workhouse Arts Center
The Laramie Project
Fri, August 8 thru Sun, August 10
Workhouse Arts Center
Stupid F##king Bird
Wed, July 30 thru Sun, August 17
Woolly Mammoth Theatre Company
Legally Blonde - The Musical
Fri, August 15 thru Sun, August 24
Workhouse Arts Center
Pinkalicious
Sat, August 2 thru Sun, August 31
Adventure Theatre MTC
Sunday in the Park with George
Tue, August 5 thru Sun, September 21
Signature Theatre