Museums: Family Programs

Want to find kids activities in DC? There are tons of things to do with kids at area museums. Family activities include storytelling, children's music, art for kids, and hands-on activities. Check the list below and experience children’s museum programs around the DC area.

50 performances · 5 ongoing events

change your search


Performances

Portrait Party for Young Learners

National Museum of Women in the Arts
Sat. Aug 17

Natalie MacMaster & Donnell Leahy

Hylton Performing Arts Center
Sun. Dec 8

Tudor Tots - Fridays

Tudor Place Historic House and Garden
Aug. 30 – Oct. 4

Weekend Tudor Tots

Tudor Place Historic House and Garden
Sat. Nov 2

Tudor Tots - Tuesdays: Fall Session

Tudor Place Historic House and Garden
Sep. 3 – Oct. 29

Tudor Tots - Tuesdays: Summer Session

Tudor Place Historic House and Garden
Aug. 20 & 27

Trick or Treat: Family-friendly Halloween fun

Tudor Place Historic House and Garden
Sat. Oct 26

Cub Corner

College Park Aviation Museum
Thu. Aug 22

Tour: Portrait Party for Young Learners

National Museum of Women in the Arts
Sat. Aug 17

Fall Plant Sale and Picnic

Tudor Place Historic House and Garden
Sun. Sep 29

Holiday Pajama Party

Tudor Place Historic House and Garden
Sat. Nov 30

Holiday Teen Tea

Tudor Place Historic House and Garden
Sun. Dec 8

Gingerbreadpalooza!

Tudor Place Historic House and Garden
Sat. Dec 21

Engineering 101

College Park Aviation Museum
Aug. 17, 2019 – Jan. 19, 2020

Migration and Displacement Themed Story Time

Smithsonian National Postal Museum
Aug. 19 – 26

Bilingual Story Time

Smithsonian National Postal Museum
Sat. Aug 17

Mi Casa, Su Casa: A Migration Celebration

College Park Aviation Museum
Sat. Sep 21

Free Community Day: September

National Museum of Women in the Arts
Sun. Sep 1

Family Day at the AU Museum

American University Museum at the Katzen Arts Center
Sat. Oct 19

Portrait Story Days: Juliette Gordon Low

Smithsonian National Portrait Gallery
Sat. Aug 31

Portrait Story Days: Charles Lindbergh

Smithsonian National Portrait Gallery
Aug. 24 & 25

Korean Family Day

Smithsonian National Portrait Gallery
Sat. Aug 17

Portrait Discovery Kits

Smithsonian National Portrait Gallery
Sep. 7 – Nov. 30

Young Portrait Explorers: Celia Cruz

Smithsonian National Portrait Gallery
Sep. 9 & 23

Morning with the Girl Scouts

Smithsonian National Portrait Gallery
Sat. Nov 23

¡Muévete! Hispanic Heritage Month Community Day

Robert and Arlene Kogod Courtyard
Sat. Sep 28

Young Portrait Explorers: Frida Kahlo

Smithsonian National Portrait Gallery
Oct. 13 & 28

Young Portrait Explorers: American Indian Heritage Month

Smithsonian National Portrait Gallery
Nov. 18 & 25

Museum Day

National Museum of Women in the Arts
Sat. Sep 21

Free Community Day: October

National Museum of Women in the Arts
Sun. Oct 6

Free Community Day: November

National Museum of Women in the Arts
Sun. Nov 3

Free Community Day: December

National Museum of Women in the Arts
Sun. Dec 1

Young Learners Tour: Animal Adventure

National Museum of Women in the Arts
Sat. Oct 19

Young Learners Program: Read for the Record 2019

National Museum of Women in the Arts
Thu. Nov 7

Young Learners Tour: Spotting Shapes and Looking for Lines

National Museum of Women in the Arts
Sat. Dec 14

Young Learners Tour: Color-Full Fun

National Museum of Women in the Arts
Sat. Feb 15, 2020

College Park Day

College Park Aviation Museum
Sat. Oct 5

Cub Corner

College Park Aviation Museum
Thu. Sep 26

Cub Corner

College Park Aviation Museum
Sat. Sep 7

Cub Corner

College Park Aviation Museum
Thu. Sep 12

Engineering 101 - Balloon Cars

College Park Aviation Museum
Sat. Nov 16

Homeschool Day - Space Cadets

College Park Aviation Museum
Tue. Oct 22

Santa Fly-In

College Park Aviation Museum
Sat. Dec 7

Celebration of Native American Veterans

Smithsonian National Museum of the American Indian
Sat. Sep 21

Open Studio

Smithsonian National Portrait Gallery
Sep. 6 – 27

Portrait Story Days: American Indian Heritage Month - Pocahontas

Smithsonian National Portrait Gallery
Nov. 2 & 3

Portrait Story Days: American Indian Heritage Month - Sequoyah

Smithsonian National Portrait Gallery
Nov. 9 & 10

Portrait Story Days: American Indian Heritage Month - Sitting Bull

Smithsonian National Portrait Gallery
Nov. 23 & 24

Portrait Story Days: American Indian Heritage Month - Zitkala-Ša

Smithsonian National Portrait Gallery
Sat. Nov 30

Portrait Story Days: Dolores Huerta

Smithsonian National Portrait Gallery
Oct. 5 & 6

Ongoing Events

Story Time in our Explore! Family Space

Smithsonian National Portrait Gallery
Tue, Wed, Thu & Fri

Explore! With the NPG

Smithsonian National Portrait Gallery
Thru Dec. 31

Holiday Trains & Planes

College Park Aviation Museum
Dec. 14 – 21

Day of the Dead Festival

Smithsonian National Museum of the American Indian
Nov. 1 – 3

Installation of the Treaty of Fort Stanwix, 1784

Smithsonian National Museum of the American Indian
Oct. 17, 2019 – Apr. 15, 2020
A program ofCultureCapital Sponsors
HumanitiesDC Arlington Arts DCCAH Parks & Recreation M-N CPPC