Classes: Adults

Adult Classes are a fun, interesting and mind-expanding way to learn new skills or hone existing ones. Check here for classes & workshops in acting, art, writing, photography, film, dance and more. Morning & evening classes for beginners to experts. Taught by professionals in their field. Sign up here to get our seasonal e-newsletter of all Adult Classes offered throughout Metro DC.

363 performances · 2 ongoing events

change your search


Performances

A Perfect Ending

The Writer's Center
Sat. Mar 23

Anyone Can Act (15 & Up, One day Workshop)

Theatre Lab School of the Dramatic Arts
Sat. Mar 23

Contemporary Watercolors

Hill Center at the Old Naval Hospital
Sat. Mar 23

Contemporary Watercolors

Hill Center at the Old Naval Hospital
Sat. Mar 23

Drawn to Figures

Smithsonian National Portrait Gallery
Sat. Mar 23

Elements of Playwriting: Dialogue

The Writer's Center
Sat. Mar 23

Jumpstart in Etching (Adults, 2 Sessions)

The Art League
Sat. Mar 23

Point of View

The Writer's Center
Sat. Mar 23

Patterns: The Art of Zentangle

Hill Center at the Old Naval Hospital
Sun. Mar 24

Felted Luminaries

The Art League
Mon. Mar 25

How to Get the Best Interviews

Docs in Progress
Tue. Mar 26

Kitchen 101: Springtime Soups

Hill Center at the Old Naval Hospital
Wed. Mar 27

Creating Novel Characters

The Writer's Center
Fri. Mar 29

Advanced Personal Essay

The Writer's Center
Sat. Mar 30

Dinner in Minutes with The Washington Post’s Bonnie Benwick

Hill Center at the Old Naval Hospital
Sat. Mar 30

Elements of Playwriting: Character

The Writer's Center
Sat. Mar 30

How to Write a Lot

The Writer's Center
Sat. Mar 30

How to Write a Lot

The Writer's Center
Sat. Mar 30

Painting Water (Adults, 2 Session)

The Art League
Sat. Mar 30

Swing Dance with Music Unlimited Big Band

Spanish Ballroom at Glen Echo Park
Sat. Mar 30

Basic Drawing (Adult, 9 sessions)

The Art League
Mon. Apr 1

My Life In Haiku

The Writer's Center
Mon. Apr 1

Basic Drawing (Adult, 9 sessions)

The Art League
Tue. Apr 2

Kitchen 101: Sausage Making

Hill Center at the Old Naval Hospital
Tue. Apr 2

Basic Drawing (Adults, 9 Sessions)

The Art League
Thu. Apr 4

Writing Picture Books

The Writer's Center
Thu. Apr 4

Basic Drawing (Adult, 9 Sessions)

The Art League
Sat. Apr 6

Basic Weaving (Adults, 9 Sessions)

The Art League
Sat. Apr 6

Common Ground

The Writer's Center
Sat. Apr 6

Taking Your Book On The Road

The Writer's Center
Sat. Apr 6

The Art of French Cooking with Chef Gérard Pangaud

Hill Center at the Old Naval Hospital
Sat. Apr 6

Basic Drawing (Adults, 9 Sessions)

The Art League
Sun. Apr 7

Mini-Writing Conference!

The Writer's Center
Mon. Apr 8

Sonnets and Villanelles II

The Writer's Center
Mon. Apr 8

Structure in Playwriting

The Writer's Center
Tue. Apr 9

Creative Watercolor (Adults, 8 sessions)

Glen Echo Park
Wed. Apr 10

Kitchen 101: Knife Skills

Hill Center at the Old Naval Hospital
Wed. Apr 10

The Joy of Revision

The Writer's Center
Wed. Apr 10

Carpe Diem! Second Thursday Dance

Silver Spring Civic Building at Veterans Plaza
Thu. Apr 11

Anyone Can Act (15 & Up, One day Workshop)

Theatre Lab School of the Dramatic Arts
Sat. Apr 13

Brain Science Tips to Hook Readers

The Writer's Center
Sat. Apr 13

How to Plot like a Pro

The Writer's Center
Sat. Apr 13

Life Stories Intensive

The Writer's Center
Sat. Apr 13

Actions and Objectives (15 & Up, 6 Sessions)

Theatre Lab School of the Dramatic Arts
Mon. Apr 15

Auditioning for Musical Theatre (15 & Up, 6 Sessions)

Theatre Lab School of the Dramatic Arts
Mon. Apr 15

Grotowski Technique (15 & Up, 6 Sessions)

Theatre Lab School of the Dramatic Arts
Mon. Apr 15

Basic Painting (Adults, 8 sessions)

Glen Echo Park
Tue. Apr 16

Beginning Scene Study (15 & Up, 6 Sessions)

Theatre Lab School of the Dramatic Arts
Tue. Apr 16

Comedy Improv (15 & Up, 6 Sessions)

Theatre Lab School of the Dramatic Arts
Tue. Apr 16

Life Painting (Adults, 10 sessions)

Glen Echo Park
Tue. Apr 16

Advanced Acting for the Camera (15 & Up, 6 Sessions)

Theatre Lab School of the Dramatic Arts
Wed. Apr 17

Advanced Personal Essay

The Writer's Center
Wed. Apr 17

Anatomical Drawing (Adults, 9 sessions)

Glen Echo Park
Wed. Apr 17

Beginning Fantasy Fiction

The Writer's Center
Wed. Apr 17

Flowing Watercolor (Adults, 9 sessions)

Glen Echo Park
Wed. Apr 17

Storytelling (15 & Up, 6 Sessions)

Theatre Lab School of the Dramatic Arts
Wed. Apr 17

Basic Drawing Studio (Adults, 8 sessions)

Glen Echo Park
Thu. Apr 18

Fun With Caricature! (Adults, 9 sessions)

Glen Echo Park
Thu. Apr 18

Intro to Acting for the Camera (15 & Up, 6 Sessions)

Theatre Lab School of the Dramatic Arts
Thu. Apr 18

Acrylic Painting (Adults, 9 sessions)

Glen Echo Park
Sat. Apr 20

How Poems Begin

The Writer's Center
Sat. Apr 20

Intro to Documentary Production Class

Docs in Progress
Sat. Apr 20

Portrait Painting (Adults, 9 sessions)

Glen Echo Park
Tue. Apr 23

Write Like the News

The Writer's Center
Wed. Apr 24

Acrylic Painting (Adults, 8 sessions)

Glen Echo Park
Thu. Apr 25

Open Studio Fridays

Smithsonian National Portrait Gallery
Mar. 29 – Apr. 26

Beginning Drawing (Adults, 7 sessions)

Glen Echo Park
Fri. Apr 26

Intro to the Novel

The Writer's Center
Fri. Apr 26

Painting in Gouache (Adults, 9 sessions)

Glen Echo Park
Fri. Apr 26

Plotting Your Novel

The Writer's Center
Fri. Apr 26

Studio Drawing (Adults, 9 sessions)

Glen Echo Park
Fri. Apr 26

Drama Workshop (15 & Up, 6 Sessions)

Theatre Lab School of the Dramatic Arts
Sat. Apr 27

Getting Started in TV and Film (15 & Up, 6 Sessions)

Theatre Lab School of the Dramatic Arts
Sat. Apr 27

Great Beginnings

The Writer's Center
Sat. Apr 27

How to Rehearse a Monologue (15 & Up, 6 Sessions)

Theatre Lab School of the Dramatic Arts
Sat. Apr 27

Intro to Acting (15 & Up, 6 Sessions)

Theatre Lab School of the Dramatic Arts
Sat. Apr 27

Voiceovers (15 & Up, 6 Sessions)

Theatre Lab School of the Dramatic Arts
Sat. Apr 27

Whodunnit? Writing the Mystery Novel

The Writer's Center
Sat. Apr 27

Writing the Dreaded Query Letter

The Writer's Center
Sat. Apr 27

Basic Drawing 1 (Adults, 9 sessions)

Glen Echo Park
Sun. Apr 28

Cinematography Workshop for Documentaries

Docs in Progress
Sun. Apr 28

Drawing II (Adults, 9 sessions)

Glen Echo Park
Sun. Apr 28

Painting From Photos (Adults, 7 sessions)

Glen Echo Park
Mon. Apr 29

Crafting Your Personal Essay

The Writer's Center
Wed. May 1

Basic Drawing (Adult, 5 sessions)

The Art League
Fri. May 3

Writing the Prose Poem

The Writer's Center
Sat. May 4

Plein-Air Oils (Adults, 5 sessions)

Glen Echo Park
Tue. May 7

Unclogging the Brain through Improvisation

The Writer's Center
Tue. May 7

Writing Your Documentary Treatment

Docs in Progress
Wed. May 8

Plein-Air Watercolor (Adults, 5 sessions)

Glen Echo Park
Fri. May 10

Writing For TV & Dialogue

Glen Echo Park
Sat. May 11

Brunch with Bubbly: Mother’s Day Celebration

Hill Center at the Old Naval Hospital
Sun. May 12

Introduction to the Short Story

The Writer's Center
Mon. May 13

The Extreme Novelist Critique Salon

The Writer's Center
Mon. May 13

Writing Creative Nonfiction

The Writer's Center
Mon. May 13

Writing What You’re Afraid Of

The Writer's Center
Mon. May 13

4 Stories/4 Weeks

The Writer's Center
Tue. May 14

Engaging Stories

The Writer's Center
Tue. May 14

First we read, then we write

The Writer's Center
Tue. May 14

How to Write a Novel

The Writer's Center
Wed. May 15

Fundamentals of Persuasive Writing

The Writer's Center
Thu. May 16

Picture Books II: Revision

The Writer's Center
Thu. May 16

Writing a Memoir

The Writer's Center
Thu. May 16

Anyone Can Act (15 & Up, One day Workshop)

Theatre Lab School of the Dramatic Arts
Sat. May 18

Artists and Writers Unite!

The Writer's Center
Sat. May 18

From Novice to Novelist

The Writer's Center
Sat. May 18

How to Write a Lot

The Writer's Center
Sat. May 18

Launch Your Self-Published Book

Hill Center at the Old Naval Hospital
Sat. May 18

Precision in Language

The Writer's Center
Sat. May 18

Writing for Radio

The Writer's Center
Sat. May 18

Writing for Radio

The Writer's Center
Sat. May 18

Developing a Writing Practice

The Writer's Center
Tue. May 21

Mystery and Suspense Writing

The Writer's Center
Tue. May 21

Preparing Your Poems for Publication

The Writer's Center
Tue. May 21

Perfect Pitch to National Publication

The Writer's Center
Wed. May 22

Revising Your First Draft

The Writer's Center
Wed. May 22

How to Craft A Short Story

The Writer's Center
Thu. May 23

Creating Novel Characters

The Writer's Center
Fri. May 24

You Can Do Both: Writing Fiction and Nonfiction

The Writer's Center
Tue. May 28

Your Narrator's Compelling Voice

The Writer's Center
Tue. May 28

Voice

The Writer's Center
Thu. May 30

Getting Your Poetry Published

The Writer's Center
Sat. Jun 1

Poetry as Experience

The Writer's Center
Sat. Jun 1

Write Sparkling Prose

The Writer's Center
Sat. Jun 1

Your First (or Next) Novel

The Writer's Center
Sat. Jun 1

Exploring Video Poetry

The Writer's Center
Mon. Jun 3

Flash Fiction: Generating New Stories

The Writer's Center
Mon. Jun 3

Getting Started: Creative Writing

The Writer's Center
Mon. Jun 3

Blogging to Build Your Author Platform

The Writer's Center
Wed. Jun 5

The Art of Revision

The Writer's Center
Wed. Jun 5

100 Words or Less

The Writer's Center
Fri. Jun 7

How to Publish Now

The Writer's Center
Sat. Jun 8

Point of View

The Writer's Center
Sat. Jun 8

Crafting Short Stories

The Writer's Center
Mon. Jun 10

Nature Writing

The Writer's Center
Mon. Jun 10

Writing Heartfelt Letters to Family Members

The Writer's Center
Mon. Jun 10

Writing Like a Woman

Hill Center at the Old Naval Hospital
Wed. Jun 12

Beginner's Travel Writing

Hill Center at the Old Naval Hospital
Thu. Jun 13

Poetry for Prose Writers

The Writer's Center
Thu. Jun 13

Beginnings in Memoir

The Writer's Center
Sat. Jun 15

Life as Metaphor: Personal Essay Writing

Hill Center at the Old Naval Hospital
Sat. Jun 15

Life Stories (Online Course)

Theatre Lab School of the Dramatic Arts
Sat. Jun 15

Characters You Love to Hate

The Writer's Center
Tue. Jun 18

Finding Your Poetic Voice

The Writer's Center
Tue. Jun 18

Book Promo Strategies No One Tells You About

The Writer's Center
Sat. Jun 22

Meter Crash Course

The Writer's Center
Sat. Jun 22

Publishing in Literary Magazines

The Writer's Center
Sat. Jun 22

Write a Winning College Essay

The Writer's Center
Sat. Jun 22

Writing for Self-Discovery

The Writer's Center
Sat. Jun 22

Introduction to the Craft and Beauty of Poetry

The Writer's Center
Thu. Jun 27

Poetic Elements in Prose Writing

The Writer's Center
Thu. Jun 27

How to Write a Business Book

The Writer's Center
Sat. Jun 29

Troubleshoot Your Stories

The Writer's Center
Sat. Jun 29

Building an Unforgettable Tale!

The Writer's Center
Mon. Jul 1

Creating from the Subconscious

The Writer's Center
Mon. Jul 1

Publish Your Parenting Stories

The Writer's Center
Mon. Jul 1

Beginning Fantasy Fiction

The Writer's Center
Wed. Jul 3

Intro to the Novel

The Writer's Center
Fri. Jul 5

Plotting Your Novel

The Writer's Center
Fri. Jul 5

Getting Started: Creative Writing

Hill Center at the Old Naval Hospital
Sat. Jul 6

How to Write Grant Proposals

The Writer's Center
Sat. Jul 6

Parenting Blogs and Beyond

The Writer's Center
Sat. Jul 6

Character Development in Fiction and Memoir

The Writer's Center
Mon. Jul 8

Writing for Children

The Writer's Center
Tue. Jul 9

Advanced Personal Essay

The Writer's Center
Wed. Jul 10

Publishing 101

The Writer's Center
Wed. Jul 10

The Extreme Novelist

The Writer's Center
Wed. Jul 10

The Poem Comes Alive

Hill Center at the Old Naval Hospital
Wed. Jul 10

Creating Conflict & Tension

The Writer's Center
Sat. Jul 13

The Personal Poem

The Writer's Center
Sat. Jul 13

How to Write a Novel

Hill Center at the Old Naval Hospital
Wed. Jul 17

Words That Move

The Writer's Center
Wed. Jul 17

From Novice to Novelist

Hill Center at the Old Naval Hospital
Sat. Jul 20

Life Stories Intensive

The Writer's Center
Sat. Jul 20

Villanelle Crash Course

The Writer's Center
Sat. Jul 20

Intro to Memoir

The Writer's Center
Mon. Jul 22

Mysteries, Thrillers & Suspense--Oh, my!

The Writer's Center
Sat. Jul 27

Creating Novel Characters

The Writer's Center
Fri. Aug 2

Marketing Your Book!

The Writer's Center
Sat. Aug 3

Playwriting: Dialogue

The Writer's Center
Sat. Aug 3

Sonnet Crash Course

Hill Center at the Old Naval Hospital
Sat. Aug 3

Bullet Journaling for the Writer

The Writer's Center
Mon. Aug 5

Playwriting: Exposition and Process

The Writer's Center
Wed. Aug 14

Ukulele Teacher Training

Strathmore
Fri. Aug 16

Great Beginnings

The Writer's Center
Sat. Aug 24

Playwriting: Character

The Writer's Center
Sat. Aug 24

Write a Winning College Essay

The Writer's Center
Sat. Aug 24

Write Like the News

The Writer's Center
Thu. Aug 29

Ongoing Events

A program ofCultureCapital Sponsors