Classes: Adults

Adult Classes are a fun, interesting and mind-expanding way to learn new skills or hone existing ones. Check here for classes & workshops in acting, art, writing, photography, film, dance and more. Morning & evening classes for beginners to experts. Taught by professionals in their field. Sign up here to get our seasonal e-newsletter of all Adult Classes offered throughout Metro DC.

229 performances · 3 ongoing events

change your search


Performances

Anyone Can Act (15 & Up, One Session)

Theatre Lab School of the Dramatic Arts
Sat. Nov 16

Anyone Can Act (15 & Up, One Session)

Theatre Lab School of the Dramatic Arts
Sat. Dec 7

Mentorship

Theatre Lab School of the Dramatic Arts
Sat. Dec 14

Life Stories (Online Course)

Theatre Lab School of the Dramatic Arts
Sat. Dec 14

Street Food: Classics of the Mediterranean

Hill Center at the Old Naval Hospital
Tue. Nov 19

Conversation Circles

Smithsonian National Portrait Gallery
Nov. 22 & 29

Drawn to Figures: How to Draw Feet

Smithsonian National Portrait Gallery
Sat. Nov 16

Advanced Short Story

The Writer's Center
Tue. Dec 3

Book Marketing & Promotional Speaking

The Writer's Center
Sat. Dec 7

Writing the Layers

The Writer's Center
Sat. Nov 16

Writing Stories From Your Life

Hill Center at the Old Naval Hospital
Sat. Dec 14

Write Like the News

The Writer's Center
Wed. Dec 11

From Novice to Novelist

Hill Center at the Old Naval Hospital
Sat. Dec 14

Getting Started: Creative Writing

Hill Center at the Old Naval Hospital
Sat. Nov 16

Great Beginnings

The Writer's Center
Sat. Dec 14

How to Plot Like a Pro

The Writer's Center
Sat. Nov 16

How to Revise a Poem

The Writer's Center
Sun. Dec 8

How to Write a Novel

Hill Center at the Old Naval Hospital
Wed. Dec 11

Intuitive Copywriting for Entrepreneurs

The Writer's Center
Tue. Dec 3

Meter Crash Course

The Writer's Center
Sat. Nov 16

Hustle/Disco (Adults, 2 sessions)

Glen Echo Park
Wed. Nov 27

Wreath Workshop: Herbal

Tudor Place Historic House and Garden
Sun. Dec 15

Wreath Workshop: Historic Greenery

Tudor Place Historic House and Garden
Dec. 14 – 15

Dance for Parkinson's Disease Workshop

The Reach @The Kennedy Center
Feb. 15 & May. 16, 2020

Healthy Animal Fats with Dr. Bill Schindler

Hill Center at the Old Naval Hospital
Sun. Dec 8

Holiday Cookie Baking with Bonnie Benwick

Hill Center at the Old Naval Hospital
Sun. Dec 15

Flower Arranging: Hand-Tied Technique

Hill Center at the Old Naval Hospital
Sun. Nov 17

Beyond Basics: Pasta Making

Hill Center at the Old Naval Hospital
Thu. Nov 21

Long Lunch: DIY Dumplings

Hill Center at the Old Naval Hospital
Fri. Nov 22

Kitchen 101: Winter Soups

Hill Center at the Old Naval Hospital
Tue. Dec 3

The Art of French Cooking with Chef Gérard Pangaud

Hill Center at the Old Naval Hospital
Sat. Dec 7

Southern Comfort Brunch: Shrimp & Grits

Hill Center at the Old Naval Hospital
Sat. Dec 14

Contemporary Watercolors

Hill Center at the Old Naval Hospital
Sat. Nov 16

Introduction to Linocut Printmaking

Hill Center at the Old Naval Hospital
Sat. Nov 16

Wine & Design

Smithsonian National Postal Museum
Thu. Dec 19

Wine and Design: Mail Art with Let's Go Postal

Smithsonian National Postal Museum
Thu. Nov 21

Arab Folk Dance Intensive (for all ages)

Cedar Lane Unitarian Universalist Church
Sat. Nov 30

Acrylic Painting (Adults, 9 sessions)

Glen Echo Park
Sat. Jan 25, 2020

Acrylic Painting (Adults, 9 sessions)

Glen Echo Park
Thu. Jan 23, 2020

Anatomical Drawing (Adults, 9 sessions)

Glen Echo Park
Wed. Jan 22, 2020

Basic Drawing 1 (Adults, 10 sessions)

Glen Echo Park
Sun. Jan 19, 2020

Basic Painting (Adults, 10 sessions)

Glen Echo Park
Tue. Jan 21, 2020

Beginning Drawing (Adults, 9 sessions)

Glen Echo Park
Fri. Jan 24, 2020

Beginning Glassblowing (Adults, 5 sessions)

Glen Echo Park
Thu. Feb 20, 2020

Beginning Glassblowing (Adults, 5 sessions)

Glen Echo Park
Tue. Feb 18, 2020

Beginning Glassblowing (Adults, 5 sessions)

Glen Echo Park
Tue. Jan 14, 2020

Beginning Glassblowing (Adults, 5 sessions)

Glen Echo Park
Thu. Jan 16, 2020

Beginning Silversmithing (Adults, 5 sessions)

Glen Echo Park
Wed. Jan 8, 2020

Beginning Silversmithing (Adults, 5 sessions)

Glen Echo Park
Thu. Jan 9, 2020

Beginning Swing Dance (Adults, 3 sessions)

Glen Echo Park
Mon. Jan 6, 2020

Beginning Swing Dance (Adults, 4 sessions)

Glen Echo Park
Mon. Feb 3, 2020

Blues Idiom Dances: Part 1 (Adults, 4 sessions)

Glen Echo Park
Thu. Jan 9, 2020

Blues Idiom Dances: Part 2 (Adults, 4 sessions)

Glen Echo Park
Thu. Feb 6, 2020

Bubbles Galore! Workshop (Adults, 2 sessions)

Glen Echo Park
Sat. Jan 18, 2020

Clay Sculpture Workshop (Adults, 5 sessions)

Glen Echo Park
Thu. Jan 9, 2020

Clay Sculpture Workshop (Adults, 5 sessions)

Glen Echo Park
Thu. Jan 9, 2020

Color Theory & Mixing (Adults, 10 sessions)

Glen Echo Park
Tue. Jan 21, 2020

Creative Monotypes & Prints (Adults, 5 sessions)

Glen Echo Park
Sun. Jan 26, 2020

Creative Watercolor (Adults, 8 sessions)

Glen Echo Park
Wed. Jan 15, 2020

Dancing Drills 101 (Adults, 4 sessions)

Glen Echo Park
Wed. Jan 8, 2020

Discover Glassblowing Workshop (Adults, 1 session)

Glen Echo Park
Sun. Feb 23, 2020

Discover Glassblowing Workshop (Adults, 1 session)

Glen Echo Park
Sun. Feb 16, 2020

Discover Glassblowing Workshop (Adults, 1 session)

Glen Echo Park
Sun. Jan 26, 2020

Discover Glassblowing Workshop (Adults, 1 session)

Glen Echo Park
Sun. Jan 19, 2020

Discover Glassblowing Workshop (Adults, 1 session)

Glen Echo Park
Sun. Jan 12, 2020

Drawing II (Adults, 10 sessions)

Glen Echo Park
Sun. Jan 19, 2020

Emerging Young Artists (Ages 13-18, 8 sessions)

Glen Echo Park
Sun. Feb 2, 2020

Figure & Studio Painting (Adults, 10 sessions)

Glen Echo Park
Wed. Jan 22, 2020

Figure and Still Life (Adults, 8 sessions)

Glen Echo Park
Wed. Jan 15, 2020

First Time Fusers Workshop (Adults, 2 sessions)

Glen Echo Park
Sat. Jan 25, 2020

Flowing Watercolor (Adults, 10 sessions)

Glen Echo Park
Wed. Jan 22, 2020

Flowing Watercolor (Lundy)

Glen Echo Park
Wed. Jan 22, 2020

High School Portfolio (Adults, 9 sessions)

Glen Echo Park
Fri. Jan 24, 2020

Intermediate Glassblowing (Adults, 4 sessions)

Glen Echo Park
Wed. Feb 12, 2020

Intermediate Glassblowing (Adults, 4 sessions)

Glen Echo Park
Wed. Jan 8, 2020

Intro to Lost Wax Casting (Adults, 3 sessions)

Glen Echo Park
Sun. Jan 12, 2020

Mixed Media/Collage Workshop (Adults, 1 session)

Glen Echo Park
Sun. Feb 9, 2020

Painting From Photos (Adults, 10 sessions)

Glen Echo Park
Mon. Jan 27, 2020

Pastel Painting (Adults, 9 sessions)

Glen Echo Park
Mon. Jan 27, 2020

Pastel Painting (Adults, 9 sessions)

Glen Echo Park
Thu. Jan 23, 2020

Pen & Ink (Adults, 10 sessions)

Glen Echo Park
Tue. Jan 21, 2020

Portrait Painting (Adults, 9 sessions)

Glen Echo Park
Tue. Jan 21, 2020

Printmaking: Monotype (Adults, 8 sessions)

Glen Echo Park
Tue. Jan 28, 2020

Recombining Patterns Workshop (Adults, 2 sessions)

Glen Echo Park
Sat. Feb 22, 2020

Relief Printmaking (Adults, 10 sessions)

Glen Echo Park
Wed. Jan 22, 2020

Relief Printmaking Workshop (Adults, 2 sessions)

Glen Echo Park
Sat. Jan 4, 2020

Silver Saturday Workshop (Adults, 1 session)

Glen Echo Park
Sat. Feb 8, 2020

Silver Saturday Workshop (Adults, 1 session)

Glen Echo Park
Sat. Jan 11, 2020

Skills: Digital Camera Basics (Adults, 3 sessions)

Glen Echo Park
Wed. Jan 15, 2020

Vision: Finding Your Voice (Adults, 6 sessions)

Glen Echo Park
Wed. Jan 22, 2020

Weekend Portrait Workshop (Adults, 2 sessions)

Glen Echo Park
Sat. Feb 22, 2020

Workshop: Digital Collage (Adults, 1 session)

Glen Echo Park
Sat. Jan 18, 2020

Woven Glass Workshop (Adults, 2 sessions)

Glen Echo Park
Sat. Feb 15, 2020

Street Food: Samosas + Pakora

Hill Center at the Old Naval Hospital
Tue. Dec 10

Kitchen 101: Sausage Making

Hill Center at the Old Naval Hospital
Thu. Dec 12

The Whole Beast: Fish Boot Camp

Hill Center at the Old Naval Hospital
Tue. Dec 17

Basic Drawing Techniques: Drawing From an Image (3 Classes)

Hill Center at the Old Naval Hospital
Tue. Dec 3

Ongoing Events

Working from the Figure (Adults, Drop-in class)

Capitol Hill Arts Workshop (CHAW)
Thru Dec. 31

Adult Dance Technique- Jane Franklin Dance

Theatre on the Run
Thru Jul. 25, 2020
A program ofCultureCapital Sponsors
HumanitiesDC Arlington Arts DCCAH Parks & Recreation M-N CPPC