Classes: Adults

Adult Classes are a fun, interesting and mind-expanding way to learn new skills or hone existing ones. Check here for classes & workshops in acting, art, writing, photography, film, dance and more. Morning & evening classes for beginners to experts. Taught by professionals in their field. Sign up here to get our seasonal e-newsletter of all Adult Classes offered throughout Metro DC.

251 performances · 3 ongoing events

change your search


Performances

Intro to Drawing (Adults, 9 sessions)

Glen Echo Park
Fri. Jan 18

Advanced Voiceovers (15 & Up, 6 Sessions)

Theatre Lab School of the Dramatic Arts
Sat. Jan 19

Audtioning (15 & Up, 6 Sessions)

Theatre Lab School of the Dramatic Arts
Sat. Jan 19

Intro to Acting Two Sections (15 & Up, 6 Sessions)

Theatre Lab School of the Dramatic Arts
Sat. Jan 19

Poetry as Experience

The Writer's Center
Sat. Jan 19

Small Mutinies: Flash Fiction/Prose Poem

The Writer's Center
Sat. Jan 19

Basic Drawing (Adults, 9 sessions)

Glen Echo Park
Mon. Jan 21

Acrylic Painting (Adults, 10 sessions)

Glen Echo Park
Tue. Jan 22

Fiction II

The Writer's Center
Tue. Jan 22

Narrative Nonfiction: History and Biography

The Writer's Center
Tue. Jan 22

Partners in Art

Del Ray Artisans
Tue. Jan 22

Unclogging the Brain Through Improv

The Writer's Center
Tue. Jan 22

Writing for the Screen

The Writer's Center
Tue. Jan 22

Flowing Watercolor (Adults, 10 sessions)

Glen Echo Park
Wed. Jan 23

How to Write a Novel

The Writer's Center
Wed. Jan 23

Life Drawing, Long Poses

Del Ray Artisans
Wed. Jan 23

Meisner Technique I (15 & Up, 6 Sessions)

Theatre Lab School of the Dramatic Arts
Wed. Jan 23

Beginning Drawing (Adults, 9 sessions)

Glen Echo Park
Fri. Jan 25

Acrylic Painting (Adults, 10 sessions)

Glen Echo Park
Sat. Jan 26

Basic Drawing 1 (Adults, 10 sessions)

Glen Echo Park
Sat. Jan 26

From Novice to Novelist

The Writer's Center
Sat. Jan 26

Writing Characters With Character

The Writer's Center
Sat. Jan 26

Writing for Self-Discovery

The Writer's Center
Sat. Jan 26

Painting From Photos (Adults, 9 sessions)

Glen Echo Park
Mon. Jan 28

Poetic Forms

The Writer's Center
Mon. Jan 28

Writing About Nature

The Writer's Center
Wed. Jan 30

A Matter of Time: Verb Tenses in Poetry

The Writer's Center
Sat. Feb 2

Common Ground

The Writer's Center
Sat. Feb 2

Exposition & Process in Playwriting

The Writer's Center
Sat. Feb 2

First Pages

The Writer's Center
Sat. Feb 2

Patterns: The Art of Zentangle

Hill Center at the Old Naval Hospital
Sun. Feb 3

Found Poetry

The Writer's Center
Mon. Feb 4

Partners in Art

Del Ray Artisans
Mon. Feb 4

Advanced Short Stories

The Writer's Center
Tue. Feb 5

Basic Drawing Techniques: Drawing From an Image (Tuesday's) 0209-0226

Hill Center at the Old Naval Hospital
Tue. Feb 5

Advanced Fiction Workshop

The Writer's Center
Wed. Feb 6

Boot Camp for Writers

The Writer's Center
Wed. Feb 6

Life Drawing, Long Poses

Del Ray Artisans
Wed. Feb 6

My Life, One Story at a Time

The Writer's Center
Thu. Feb 7

Creating Novel Characters

The Writer's Center
Fri. Feb 8

Writing with the Five Senses

The Writer's Center
Sat. Feb 9

Character Development in Fiction and Memoir

The Writer's Center
Mon. Feb 11

Villanelle Intensive

The Writer's Center
Mon. Feb 11

Found It – Make It – Wear It Workshop

Del Ray Artisans
Tue. Feb 12

Art of the Personal Essay

The Writer's Center
Wed. Feb 13

Writing a Nonfiction Book Proposal

The Writer's Center
Wed. Feb 13

Carpe Diem! Second Thursday Dance

Silver Spring Civic Building at Veterans Plaza
Thu. Feb 14

Anyone Can Act (15 & Up, One day Workshop)

Theatre Lab School of the Dramatic Arts
Sat. Feb 16

How to Write and Produce a Feature Film

The Writer's Center
Sat. Feb 16

Pushing Past Clichés in Love Poems

Hill Center at the Old Naval Hospital
Sat. Feb 16

Reviving a Stuck Poem

The Writer's Center
Sat. Feb 16

iPad Art Workshop (Adults, 1 session)

Glen Echo Park
Sun. Feb 17

Art of Gratitude II

The Writer's Center
Mon. Feb 18

Playing with Resin Workshop

Del Ray Artisans
Tue. Feb 19

The Fun & Freedom of Form

The Writer's Center
Tue. Feb 19

How to Write a Novel

Hill Center at the Old Naval Hospital
Wed. Feb 20

Life Drawing, Long Poses

Del Ray Artisans
Wed. Feb 20

Fantastic Fiction Fix-Its

The Writer's Center
Sat. Feb 23

From Novice to Novelist

Hill Center at the Old Naval Hospital
Sat. Feb 23

Auditioning (15 & Up, 6 Sessions)

Theatre Lab School of the Dramatic Arts
Mon. Feb 25

Beginning Scene Study (15 & Up, 6 Sessions)

Theatre Lab School of the Dramatic Arts
Mon. Feb 25

Creating a Musical Role (15 & Up, 12 Sessions)

Theatre Lab School of the Dramatic Arts
Tue. Feb 26

Intro to Acting for the Camera Two Sections (15 & Up, 6 Sessions)

Theatre Lab School of the Dramatic Arts
Tue. Feb 26

Intro to Acting Two Sections (15 & Up, 6 Sessions)

Theatre Lab School of the Dramatic Arts
Tue. Feb 26

Read Your Words!

The Writer's Center
Tue. Feb 26

Intro to Acting for the Camera Two Sections (15 & Up, 6 Sessions)

Theatre Lab School of the Dramatic Arts
Wed. Feb 27

Playwriting (15 & Up, 6 Sessions)

Theatre Lab School of the Dramatic Arts
Wed. Feb 27

The Extreme Novelist II: Revision

The Writer's Center
Wed. Feb 27

Writing Dialogue for Film & Television

The Writer's Center
Wed. Feb 27

Acting in Commercials and Industrials (15 & Up, 6 Sessions)

Theatre Lab School of the Dramatic Arts
Thu. Feb 28

Flash Fiction Forms

The Writer's Center
Fri. Mar 1

Intro to the Novel

The Writer's Center
Fri. Mar 1

Plotting Your Novel

The Writer's Center
Fri. Mar 1

Beginner's Travel Writing

Hill Center at the Old Naval Hospital
Sat. Mar 2

Intro to Acting Two Sections (15 & Up, 6 Sessions)

Theatre Lab School of the Dramatic Arts
Sat. Mar 2

Master Class in the Personal Essay

The Writer's Center
Sat. Mar 2

Scenes in Performance (15 & Up, 6 Sessions)

Theatre Lab School of the Dramatic Arts
Sat. Mar 2

Viewpoints (15 & Up, 6 Sessions)

Theatre Lab School of the Dramatic Arts
Sat. Mar 2

Voiceovers (15 & Up, 6 Sessions)

Theatre Lab School of the Dramatic Arts
Sat. Mar 2

What Sound Effects Can Do for Your Poems

The Writer's Center
Sat. Mar 2

Your First (or Next) Novel

The Writer's Center
Sat. Mar 2

Life Drawing, Gesture (Clothed Model)

Del Ray Artisans
Sun. Mar 3

How to Write a Business Book

The Writer's Center
Mon. Mar 4

Partners in Art

Del Ray Artisans
Mon. Mar 4

Voice and Speech (15 & Up, 6 Sessions)

Theatre Lab School of the Dramatic Arts
Mon. Mar 4

Beginning Fantasy Fiction

The Writer's Center
Tue. Mar 5

Getting Started: Creative Writing

The Writer's Center
Tue. Mar 5

Revitalize Your Writing

The Writer's Center
Tue. Mar 5

Finding Your Memoir Voice

The Writer's Center
Wed. Mar 6

Life Drawing, Short/Long Poses

Del Ray Artisans
Wed. Mar 6

Meisner Technique II (15 & Up, 6 Sessions)

Theatre Lab School of the Dramatic Arts
Wed. Mar 6

Build Your Platform with Blogging

The Writer's Center
Thu. Mar 7

Urban Sketchbooking

Del Ray Artisans
Sun. Mar 10

Meter Intensive

The Writer's Center
Mon. Mar 11

Fiction and Non-Fiction Personal Narratives

The Writer's Center
Tue. Mar 12

Public Speaking the Actor's Way (15 & Up, 4 Sessions)

Theatre Lab School of the Dramatic Arts
Wed. Mar 13

Master Class: Sir James Galway

The Kennedy Center
Thu. Mar 14

Writing for Procrastinators

The Writer's Center
Thu. Mar 14

Creating Conflict & Tension in Fiction

The Writer's Center
Sat. Mar 16

Getting Started: Creative Writing

Hill Center at the Old Naval Hospital
Sat. Mar 16

Hip Hop is Poetry

The Writer's Center
Mon. Mar 18

A Perfect Ending

The Writer's Center
Sat. Mar 23

Anyone Can Act (15 & Up, One day Workshop)

Theatre Lab School of the Dramatic Arts
Sat. Mar 23

Contemporary Watercolors

Hill Center at the Old Naval Hospital
Sat. Mar 23

Elements of Playwriting: Dialogue

The Writer's Center
Sat. Mar 23

Point of View

The Writer's Center
Sat. Mar 23

How to Get the Best Interviews

Docs in Progress
Tue. Mar 26

Creating Novel Characters

The Writer's Center
Fri. Mar 29

Advanced Personal Essay

The Writer's Center
Sat. Mar 30

Elements of Playwriting: Character

The Writer's Center
Sat. Mar 30

How to Write a Lot

The Writer's Center
Sat. Mar 30

How to Write a Lot

The Writer's Center
Sat. Mar 30

My Life In Haiku

The Writer's Center
Mon. Apr 1

Writing Picture Books

The Writer's Center
Thu. Apr 4

Common Ground

The Writer's Center
Sat. Apr 6

Taking Your Book On The Road

The Writer's Center
Sat. Apr 6

Mini-Writing Conference!

The Writer's Center
Mon. Apr 8

Sonnets and Villanelles II

The Writer's Center
Mon. Apr 8

Structure in Playwriting

The Writer's Center
Tue. Apr 9

The Joy of Revision

The Writer's Center
Wed. Apr 10

Anyone Can Act (15 & Up, One day Workshop)

Theatre Lab School of the Dramatic Arts
Sat. Apr 13

Brain Science Tips to Hook Readers

The Writer's Center
Sat. Apr 13

How to Plot like a Pro

The Writer's Center
Sat. Apr 13

Life Stories Intensive

The Writer's Center
Sat. Apr 13

Actions and Objectives (15 & Up, 6 Sessions)

Theatre Lab School of the Dramatic Arts
Mon. Apr 15

Auditioning for Musical Theatre (15 & Up, 6 Sessions)

Theatre Lab School of the Dramatic Arts
Mon. Apr 15

Grotowski Technique (15 & Up, 6 Sessions)

Theatre Lab School of the Dramatic Arts
Mon. Apr 15

Beginning Scene Study (15 & Up, 6 Sessions)

Theatre Lab School of the Dramatic Arts
Tue. Apr 16

Comedy Improv (15 & Up, 6 Sessions)

Theatre Lab School of the Dramatic Arts
Tue. Apr 16

Advanced Acting for the Camera (15 & Up, 6 Sessions)

Theatre Lab School of the Dramatic Arts
Wed. Apr 17

Advanced Personal Essay

The Writer's Center
Wed. Apr 17

Beginning Fantasy Fiction

The Writer's Center
Wed. Apr 17

Storytelling (15 & Up, 6 Sessions)

Theatre Lab School of the Dramatic Arts
Wed. Apr 17

Intro to Acting for the Camera (15 & Up, 6 Sessions)

Theatre Lab School of the Dramatic Arts
Thu. Apr 18

How Poems Begin

The Writer's Center
Sat. Apr 20

Write Like the News

The Writer's Center
Wed. Apr 24

Drama Workshop (15 & Up, 6 Sessions)

Theatre Lab School of the Dramatic Arts
Sat. Apr 27

Getting Started in TV and Film (15 & Up, 6 Sessions)

Theatre Lab School of the Dramatic Arts
Sat. Apr 27

Great Beginnings

The Writer's Center
Sat. Apr 27

How to Rehearse a Monologue (15 & Up, 6 Sessions)

Theatre Lab School of the Dramatic Arts
Sat. Apr 27

Intro to Acting (15 & Up, 6 Sessions)

Theatre Lab School of the Dramatic Arts
Sat. Apr 27

Voiceovers (15 & Up, 6 Sessions)

Theatre Lab School of the Dramatic Arts
Sat. Apr 27

Whodunnit? Writing the Mystery Novel

The Writer's Center
Sat. Apr 27

Writing the Dreaded Query Letter

The Writer's Center
Sat. Apr 27

Anyone Can Act (15 & Up, One day Workshop)

Theatre Lab School of the Dramatic Arts
Sat. May 18

Life Stories (Online Course)

Theatre Lab School of the Dramatic Arts
Sat. Jun 15

Ongoing Events

A program ofCultureCapital Sponsors