Classes: Adults

Adult Classes are a fun, interesting and mind-expanding way to learn new skills or hone existing ones. Check here for classes & workshops in acting, art, writing, photography, film, dance and more. Morning & evening classes for beginners to experts. Taught by professionals in their field. Sign up here to get our seasonal e-newsletter of all Adult Classes offered throughout Metro DC.

303 performances · 9 ongoing events

change your search


Performances

Dance for Parkinson's Disease Workshop

The Reach @The Kennedy Center
Sat. May 16

Sonnet Crash Course

Theatre on the Run
Sat. Apr 25

Troubleshoot Your Story

The Writer's Center
Sat. Apr 18

Write Like the News

The Writer's Center
Wed. Apr 29

Writing Short Plays

The Writer's Center
Sat. Apr 4

All About Tone

The Writer's Center
Sun. Apr 19

Book Promo Strategies No One Tells You About

The Writer's Center
Sat. Apr 4

Getting Started: Creative Writing

Hill Center at the Old Naval Hospital
Sat. Apr 18

Getting Your Poetry Published

The Writer's Center
Sat. Apr 25

Intro to Flash Fiction

The Writer's Center
Fri. Apr 17

Journaling through Visual Poetry

The Writer's Center
Mon. Apr 6

Making Your Characters Matter

The Writer's Center
Sat. Apr 25

Micro Memoir

The Writer's Center
Sat. Apr 25

Plot Like a Pro

The Writer's Center
Sat. Apr 4

Publishing in Literary Magazines

The Writer's Center
Sat. Apr 4

Sensory Detail in Fiction

The Writer's Center
Sun. Apr 26

Advanced Acting for the Camera (Adults, 7 Sessions)

Theatre Lab School of the Dramatic Arts
Thu. Apr 16

Anyone Can Act (Adults, 1 Session)

Theatre Lab School of the Dramatic Arts
Sat. Apr 25

Anyone Can Act (Adults, 1 Session)

Theatre Lab School of the Dramatic Arts
Sat. May 16

Anyone Can Act (Adults, 1 Session)

Theatre Lab School of the Dramatic Arts
Sat. Jun 6

Auditioning on Video (Adults, 6 Sessions)

Theatre Lab School of the Dramatic Arts
Wed. Apr 15

Beginning Scene Study (Adults, 6 Sessions)

Theatre Lab School of the Dramatic Arts
Mon. Apr 13

Belters Workshop (Adults, 6 Sessions)

Theatre Lab School of the Dramatic Arts
Wed. Apr 15

Cold Reading (Adults, 6 Sessions)

Theatre Lab School of the Dramatic Arts
Tue. Apr 14

Creating a One-Person Show (Adults, 6 Sessions)

Theatre Lab School of the Dramatic Arts
Tue. Apr 14

Drama Workshop (Adults, 6 Sessions)

Theatre Lab School of the Dramatic Arts
Sat. Apr 18

Intensive Scene Study with José Carrasquillo (Adults, 6 Sessions)

Theatre Lab School of the Dramatic Arts
Sat. Apr 18

Intro to Acting at Levine (Adults, 6 Sessions)

Theatre Lab School of the Dramatic Arts
Mon. Apr 13

Intro to Acting for the Camera, Section A (Adults, 6 Sessions)

Theatre Lab School of the Dramatic Arts
Sat. Apr 18

Intro to Acting, Section A (Adults, 6 Sessions)

Theatre Lab School of the Dramatic Arts
Mon. Apr 13

Intro to Acting, Section A (Adults, 6 Sessions)

Theatre Lab School of the Dramatic Arts
Mon. Apr 13

Intro to Acting, Section B (Adults, 6 Sessions)

Theatre Lab School of the Dramatic Arts
Wed. Apr 15

Meisner Technique II: Scene Work (Adults, 6 Sessions)

Theatre Lab School of the Dramatic Arts
Tue. Apr 14

Uta Hagen Technique (Adults, 6 Sessions)

Theatre Lab School of the Dramatic Arts
Sat. Apr 18

Voiceovers I (Adults, 6 Sessions)

Theatre Lab School of the Dramatic Arts
Sat. Apr 18

Voiceovers II (Adults, 6 Sessions)

Theatre Lab School of the Dramatic Arts
Sat. Apr 18

Order In: Indian

Hill Center at the Old Naval Hospital
Tue. Apr 7

The Art of French Cooking with Chef Gérard Pangaud

Hill Center at the Old Naval Hospital
Sat. May 9

Order In: Chinese

Hill Center at the Old Naval Hospital
Wed. May 13

Kitchen 101: Pizza Night

Hill Center at the Old Naval Hospital
Wed. Jun 10

Order In: Indian

Hill Center at the Old Naval Hospital
Thu. Jun 18

Stage Combat Workshop (Adults, 2 sessions)

Studio Acting Conservatory
Sat. Apr 4

Intermediate Documentary Editing

Docs in Progress
Sat. Apr 25

Long Lunch: Mediterranean Flatbreads

Hill Center at the Old Naval Hospital
Fri. Apr 3

Kitchen 101: Knife Skills

Hill Center at the Old Naval Hospital
Wed. Apr 22

Kitchen 101: Pizza Night

Hill Center at the Old Naval Hospital
Thu. Apr 2

Framing Your Legacy: A Workshop on Life Writing

Hill Center at the Old Naval Hospital
Sat. Apr 11

No Boundaries Cuisine: English Tea

Hill Center at the Old Naval Hospital
Sat. Apr 4

Street Food: Classics of the Mediterranean

Hill Center at the Old Naval Hospital
Thu. Apr 9

No Boundaries Cuisine: Pan African Celebration

Hill Center at the Old Naval Hospital
Sat. Apr 11

No Boundaries Cuisine: Brazil

Hill Center at the Old Naval Hospital
Sat. Apr 11

Southern Comfort Brunch: Nashville Hot Chicken

Hill Center at the Old Naval Hospital
Sun. Apr 26

Beyond Basics: New Orleans Fête

Hill Center at the Old Naval Hospital
Thu. May 7

Basic Drawing Techniques: Drawing From an Image (Four Sessions)

Hill Center at the Old Naval Hospital
Tue. May 5

Matzoh Ball Workshop

Hill Center at the Old Naval Hospital
Wed. Apr 1

Viennese Waltz (Adults, 4 sessions)

Glen Echo Park
Thu. Apr 9

Acrylic Painting (Adults, 4 sessions)

Glen Echo Park
Thu. Jun 25

Acrylic Painting (Adults 4 sessions)

Glen Echo Park
Sat. Aug 1

Acrylic Painting (Adults, 4 sessions)

Glen Echo Park
Sat. Jun 27

Acrylic Painting (Adults, 4 sessions)

Glen Echo Park
Thu. Apr 16

Acrylic Painting (Adults, 8 sessions)

Glen Echo Park
Thu. Apr 16

Acrylic Painting (Adults, 8 sessions)

Glen Echo Park
Sat. Apr 18

Anatomical Drawing (Adults, 9 sessions)

Glen Echo Park
Wed. Apr 15

Basic Painting (Adults, 9 sessions)

Glen Echo Park
Tue. Apr 14

Basic Painting (Adults, 4 sessions)

Glen Echo Park
Tue. Jul 7

Basic Painting (Adults, 4 sessions)

Glen Echo Park
Tue. Aug 4

Beginning Drawing (Adults, 4 sessions)

Glen Echo Park
Fri. Apr 17

Beginning Drawing (Adults, 9 sessions)

Glen Echo Park
Fri. Apr 17

Portrait Painting (Adults, 5 sessions)

Glen Echo Park
Tue. Jul 21

Kriya Meditation Series (Seven Weeks)

Gandhi Memorial Center
Wed. Apr 15

Portrait Painting (Adults, 9 sessions)

Glen Echo Park
Tue. Apr 21

Flowing Watercolor (Adults, 10 sessions)

Glen Echo Park
Wed. Apr 15

Intermediate Glassblowing (Adults, 4 sessions)

Glen Echo Park
Apr. 22 – Jul. 1

Flowing Watercolor (Adults, 6 sessions)

Glen Echo Park
Wed. Jul 1

Foxtrot Workshop (Adults, 1 session)

Glen Echo Park
Mon. Aug 3

Tango Workshop (Adults, 1 session)

Glen Echo Park
Mon. Aug 10

Solo Dancing (Adults, 4 sessions)

Glen Echo Park
Thu. Jul 9

Plein Air Watercolor (Adults, 8 sessions)

Glen Echo Park
Fri. Apr 24

Plein Air Watercolor (Adults, 7 sessions)

Glen Echo Park
Fri. Jul 10

Pastel Painting (Adults, 9 sessions)

Glen Echo Park
Thu. Apr 16

Pastel Painting (Adults, 9 sessions)

Glen Echo Park
Mon. Apr 13

Painting From Photos (Adults, 8 sessions)

Glen Echo Park
Mon. Apr 20

More Swing Dance (Adults, 4 sessions)

Glen Echo Park
Mon. Jun 1

More Swing Dance (Adults, 4 sessions)

Glen Echo Park
Mon. Apr 6

Life Drawing (Adults, 6 sessions)

Glen Echo Park
Thu. Jun 25

Flower Arranging: Hand-Tied Technique

Hill Center at the Old Naval Hospital
Sun. Apr 5

Ongoing Events

Adult Dance Technique- Jane Franklin Dance

Theatre on the Run
Thru Jul. 25

Open Life Drawing Sessions (Adults, Drop-in)

Del Ray Artisans
Thru Dec. 9

Floor Barre (Adult, Drop-In)

BalletNova Center for Dance
Thru Jun. 21

50+ Basic Ballet (Drop-In)

BalletNova Center for Dance
Thru Jun. 21

Adult Advanced Beginning Ballet (Drop-In)

BalletNova Center for Dance
Thru Jun. 21

Adult Basic Beginning Ballet (Drop-In)

BalletNova Center for Dance
Thru Jun. 21

Adult Beginning Ballet for Non-Beginners

BalletNova Center for Dance
Thru Jun. 21

Adult Intermediate Ballet (Drop-In)

BalletNova Center for Dance
Thru Jun. 21

Open Studio (Adults, 10 sessions)

Glen Echo Park
Apr. 17 – Jun. 19
A program ofCultureCapital Sponsors
HumanitiesDC Arlington Arts DCCAH Parks & Recreation M-N CPPC