Family Events

Find great family events and activities in Metro DC with CultureCapital.com. Check here for family concerts and performances, hands-on activities and fun exhibitions for you and your kids, teens and tweens to experience together throughout Metro DC.

1 special feature · 140 performances · 7 ongoing events

change your search


Feature


Performances

Storytime On Screen

Old Greenbelt Theatre
Mon. Apr 22

Young Portrait Explorers: Rachel Carson

Smithsonian National Portrait Gallery
Mon. Apr 22

Cub Corner: Weather

College Park Aviation Museum
Thu. Apr 25

Homeschool Day: Nurturing Nature in the City

Tudor Place Historic House and Garden
Fri. Apr 26

Dead Letter Office: Gallery Experience

Smithsonian National Postal Museum
Apr. 25 & 27

Carousel Day 2019

Glen Echo Park
Sat. Apr 27

Family Day at the American University Museum

American University Museum at the Katzen Arts Center
Sat. Apr 27

Gallery Voices at the National Arboretum

U.S. National Arboretum
Sat. Apr 27

OGT Kids Series: Mary & the Witch’s Flower

Old Greenbelt Theatre
Sat. Apr 27

Revels at Fairfax History Day

Historic Blenheim and the Civil War Interpretive Center
Sat. Apr 27

Stomp

National Theatre
Apr. 23 – 28

Atlas Presents: Aquarium by Imagination Stage

Atlas Performing Arts Center
Apr. 24 – 28

Living Earth Festival 2019: Farm to Table

Smithsonian National Museum of the American Indian
Apr. 27 & 28

NSO Music for Young Audiences: Break it Down!

The Kennedy Center
Apr. 27 – 28

Fourth Annual Earth Day Plant Sale & Picnic

Tudor Place Historic House and Garden
Sun. Apr 28

Pancake Fly-In

College Park Aviation Museum
Sun. Apr 28

Tiny Tots - Jellybean Circus

The Puppet Co. Playhouse
Sun. Apr 28

Yogapalooza with Bari Koral

AMP by Strathmore
Sun. Apr 28

Women themed Story Time

Smithsonian National Postal Museum
Apr. 22 – 29

Stuart Little

Publick Playhouse
Thru Apr. 30

American Festival Pops Orchestra

Hylton Performing Arts Center
Fri. May 3

Jane Franklin Dance: Complete Dogness

Theatre on the Run
Apr. 27 & May. 4

Lucky Plush: Rooming House

The Kennedy Center
May. 2 – 4

May Revels at National Cathedral Flower Mart

Washington National Cathedral
Sat. May 4

Jack and the Beanstalk

The Puppet Co. Playhouse
Apr. 25 – May. 5

Junie B. Jones

Olney Theatre Center
May. 4 – 5

DC Concert Orchestra - Postcards

Church of the Epiphany
Sun. May 5

May Revels at BlackRock Center for the Arts

BlackRock Center for the Arts
Sun. May 5

Mouse in the House

Charles E. Beatley, Jr. Central Library
Mon. May 6

All The Way Live

The Alden
Sat. May 11

All The Way Live

The Alden
Sat. May 11

Alphabet Rockers

Millennium Stage at the Kennedy Center
Sat. May 11

BalletNova presents La Fille Mal Gardée Petite Performance

BalletNova Center for Dance
Sat. May 11

BSO Music Box

AMP by Strathmore
Sat. May 11

NEXTgeneration Showcase

Dance Place
Sat. May 11

OGT Kids Series: Song of the Sea

Old Greenbelt Theatre
Sat. May 11

Tiny Tots - Mother Goose Caboose

The Puppet Co. Playhouse
May. 1 – 12

Mother's Day Fashion Tea

Tudor Place Historic House and Garden
Sun. May 12

Into the Woods

Ford's Theatre
Apr. 22 – May. 16

EyeSoar

Charles E. Beatley, Jr. Central Library
Thu. May 16

Annie

Reston Community Center
Apr. 26 – May. 18

Saturday Family Jam Sessions

The Mansion at Strathmore
Apr. 27 & May. 18

Engineering 101: Paper Plane Challenge

College Park Aviation Museum
Sat. May 18

Shrek Jr, The Musical

Arts Barn
May. 10 – 19

Colors

The Kennedy Center
May. 18 – 19

Hawaiian Cultural Festival

Smithsonian National Museum of the American Indian
May. 18 & 19

JxJ: The Dancing Dogs of Dombrova

AFI Silver Theatre and Cultural Center
Sun. May 19

Carpe Diem-Revels Community Sing

Seekers Church
Tue. May 21

Maritime Voices at Friendship Heights

Friendship Heights Village Center
Wed. May 22

Firsthand Experience: Making and Sculpting Paper

National Museum of Women in the Arts
Sat. May 25

OGT Kids Series: The Last Unicorn

Old Greenbelt Theatre
Sat. May 25

Unleash Your Superpowers! An International PeerPositivePOWER Presentation

Millennium Stage at the Kennedy Center
Sat. May 25

Winnie the Pooh

Adventure Theatre MTC
Apr. 23 – May. 26

Tiny Tots - Clowning Around

The Puppet Co. Playhouse
May. 18 – 26

The Kennedy Center Youth Council

Millennium Stage at the Kennedy Center
Sun. May 26

Whitman 200: Songs of Ourselves

All Souls Church Unitarian
Sun. May 26

National Memorial Day Concert

West Lawn US Capitol
Mon. May 27

National Memorial Day Parade

Constitution Avenue between 7th and 17th Streets
Tue. May 28

Kids Concert + Family Happy Hour

Hill Center at the Old Naval Hospital
Fri. May 31

Tiny Tots - ”Sing-a-Long”

The Puppet Co. Playhouse
Jun. 1 & 2

FAME, el Musical (en español)

GALA Hispanic Theatre
May. 9 – Jun. 9

FAME, The Musical, US Premiere in Spanish

GALA Hispanic Theatre
May. 9 – Jun. 9

The Talented Clementine

Gunston Arts Center
May. 31 – Jun. 9

Chamber Music Concert

Saint Mark's Episcopal Church
Sun. Jun 9

Tiny Tots - Panda-Monium

The Puppet Co. Playhouse
Jun. 5 – 15

Engineering 101: Build-A-Grabber

College Park Aviation Museum
Sat. Jun 15

The 11th Annual Silver Spring Blues Festival

Silver Spring Civic Building at Veterans Plaza
Sat. Jun 15

Young Learners Tour: Color-Full Fun

National Museum of Women in the Arts
Sat. Jun 15

Moona Luna

AMP by Strathmore
Sun. Jun 16

Mr Knick Knack at Lubber Run Amphitheater

Lubber Run Amphitheater
Sun. Jun 16

Cinderella

The Puppet Co. Playhouse
May. 9 – Jun. 23

Falsettos

The Kennedy Center
Jun. 11 – 23

Grandsons Jr at Lubber Run Amphitheater

Lubber Run Amphitheater
Sun. Jun 23

Tiny Tots - Old MacDonald’s Farm

The Puppet Co. Playhouse
Jun. 19 – 29

NSO Pops: 50 Years Over the Rainbow

The Kennedy Center
Jun. 28 & 29

A Capital Fourth Fireworks

West Lawn US Capitol
Thu. Jul 4

Summer Cool-Off

Tudor Place Historic House and Garden
Sat. Jul 6

L'homme Cirque

Strathmore
Jun. 27 – Jul. 7

Reptiles Alive at Lubber Run Amphitheater

Lubber Run Amphitheater
Sun. Jul 7

Jane Franklin Dance: Mouse in the House

Cherrydale Branch Library
Mon. Jul 8

Mouse in House at Glencarlyn Library

Glencarlyn Branch Library
Mon. Jul 8

Pilobolus

Strathmore
Tue. Jul 9

Oran Etkin's Timbalooloo

Strathmore
Thu. Jul 11

Tiny Tots - Imaginary Friends

The Puppet Co. Playhouse
Jul. 7 – 13

American Ballet Theatre - Swan Lake

Wolf Trap
Jul. 11 – 13

Rocknocerous at Lubber Run Amphitheater

Lubber Run Amphitheater
Sun. Jul 14

Complete Dogness

Westover Library
Wed. Jul 17

SOLE Defined The R.E.M.I.X.

Strathmore
Thu. Jul 18

Road Dahl's Matilda the Musical

Olney Theatre Center
Jun. 21 – Jul. 21

Tiny Tots - Dragon Babies

The Puppet Co. Playhouse
Jul. 17 & 21

Rainbow Rock Band at Lubber Run Amphitheater

Lubber Run Amphitheater
Sun. Jul 21

Bee Parks & The Hornets

Strathmore
Thu. Jul 25

Tiny Tots - Magic Toyshop

The Puppet Co. Playhouse
Jul. 24 & 27

Disney's Newsies

Kenmore Middle School
Jul. 19 – 28

Circus

The Puppet Co. Playhouse
Jun. 28 – Aug. 4

Mr Gabe and the Circle Time All Stars

Lubber Run Amphitheater
Sun. Aug 4

Mouse in House at Columbia Pike Library

Columbia Pike Branch Library
Tue. Aug 6

Mouse in House at Shirlington Library

Shirlington Library
Tue. Aug 6

Tiny Tots - Penguins’ Playground

The Puppet Co. Playhouse
Jul. 31 – Aug. 10

Portrait Party for Young Learners

National Museum of Women in the Arts
Sat. Aug 17

The Cat in the Hat

Adventure Theatre MTC
Jun. 21 – Aug. 18

Tiny Tots - Baby Bear’s Birthday

The Puppet Co. Playhouse
Aug. 14 & 18

UkeFest Finale

Strathmore
Wed. Aug 21

Tiny Tots - World on a String

The Puppet Co. Playhouse
Aug. 21 & 24

Sing-A-Long: Sound Of Music

Wolf Trap
Sat. Aug 24

The Three Billy Goats Gruff

The Puppet Co. Playhouse
Aug. 8 – Sep. 1

Tiny Tots - Teddy Bear’s Picnic

The Puppet Co. Playhouse
Aug. 28 & Sep. 1

Disney's Aladdin

The Kennedy Center
Jul. 18 – Sep. 7

Moon Mouse: A Space Odyssey

Hylton Performing Arts Center
Sun. Oct 6

Peter Rabbit (TM) Tales

Center for the Arts at George Mason University
Sun. Oct 6

Cirque Mei

Center for the Arts at George Mason University
Sat. Oct 19

Cirque Mei

Hylton Performing Arts Center
Thu. Oct 24

Circo Comedia

Hylton Performing Arts Center
Sun. Nov 17

The Very Hungry Caterpillar Christmas

Center for the Arts at George Mason University
Sun. Dec 1

CAPAC: Langston Hughes' Black Nativity

Hylton Performing Arts Center
Fri. Dec 6

Manassas Symphony Orchestra: Story Time

Hylton Performing Arts Center
Sat. Dec 7

Natalie MacMaster & Donnell Leahy

Hylton Performing Arts Center
Sun. Dec 8

Prince William Little Theatre: A Charlie Brown Christmas

Hylton Performing Arts Center
Dec. 14 – 22

Manassas Ballet Theatre: The Nutcracker

Hylton Performing Arts Center
Dec. 18 – 23

The Rainbow Fish

Hylton Performing Arts Center
Sun. Feb 9, 2020

NPR's From the Top

Center for the Arts at George Mason University
Sat. Feb 29, 2020

Hot Peas 'N Butter

Center for the Arts at George Mason University
Sun. Mar 1, 2020

The Magic of Bill Blag Live!

Center for the Arts at George Mason University
Tue. Mar 3, 2020

Broadway Princess Party

Hylton Performing Arts Center
Sun. Mar 29, 2020

The Okee Dokee Brothers

Hylton Performing Arts Center
Sun. Apr 26, 2020

Ongoing Events

Tudor Tots - Tuesdays, Spring Sessions

Tudor Place Historic House and Garden
Thru Apr. 30

Observe the Flag-In during Memorial Day Weekend

Arlington National Cemetery
May. 24 – 27

Baseball Americana

Library of Congress
Thru Jul. 27

Whitman 200: Whitman Bicentennial Display

Library of Congress
May. 15 – Aug. 15

One Destiny

Ford's Theatre
Thru Oct. 26

Explore! With the NPG

Smithsonian National Portrait Gallery
Thru Dec. 31

Story Time in our Explore! Family Space

Smithsonian National Portrait Gallery
Tuesdays, Wednesdays, Thursdays & Fridays
A program ofCultureCapital Sponsors