Classes: Visual Arts

Find Art Classes ranging from painting, photography, metal works, ceramics, sculptures and a whole lot more. Classes and workshops for beginners to experts taught by professionals in their field. Includes classes and workshops for adults, camps for youth.

215 performances · 2 ongoing events

change your search


Performances

Studio Arts Camp (Ages 8-12, 5 days)

Glen Echo Park
Mon. Aug 19

Kids Talk & Tour

The Mansion at Strathmore
Oct. 5 & Nov. 30

Basic Drawing Techniques: Drawing From an Image (3 or 4 Weeks)

Hill Center at the Old Naval Hospital
Sep. 3 & Oct. 1

Contemporary Watercolors

Hill Center at the Old Naval Hospital
Aug. 24 – Oct. 19

Introduction to Linocut Printmaking

Hill Center at the Old Naval Hospital
Aug. 24 – Oct. 19

Open Studio

Smithsonian National Portrait Gallery
Sep. 6 – 27

Portrait Story Days: Marisol Escobar

Smithsonian National Portrait Gallery
Sep. 7 & 8

Portrait Story Days: Sonia Sotomayor

Smithsonian National Portrait Gallery
Sep. 14 & 15

Portrait Story Days: Celia Cruz

Smithsonian National Portrait Gallery
Sep. 21 & 22

Portrait Story Days: José Limón

Smithsonian National Portrait Gallery
Sun. Sep 29

Drawn to Figures: How to Draw Feet

Smithsonian National Portrait Gallery
Nov. 13 & 16

Drawn to Figures: How to Draw Hands

Smithsonian National Portrait Gallery
Nov. 6 & 9

Open Studio

Smithsonian National Portrait Gallery
Nov. 1 – 29

Portrait Story Days: American Indian Heritage Month - Pocahontas

Smithsonian National Portrait Gallery
Nov. 2 & 3

Portrait Story Days: American Indian Heritage Month - Sequoyah

Smithsonian National Portrait Gallery
Nov. 9 & 10

Portrait Story Days: American Indian Heritage Month - Sitting Bull

Smithsonian National Portrait Gallery
Nov. 23 & 24

Portrait Story Days: American Indian Heritage Month - Zitkala-Ša

Smithsonian National Portrait Gallery
Sat. Nov 30

Portrait Story Days: Dolores Huerta

Smithsonian National Portrait Gallery
Oct. 5 & 6

Portrait Story Days: Frida Kahlo

Smithsonian National Portrait Gallery
Oct. 12 & 13

Portrait Story Days: Pedro Martinez

Smithsonian National Portrait Gallery
Sat. Oct 19

Fun With Musical Decals Workshop

Del Ray Artisans
Sat. Sep 14

Music-themed Paper Collage Workshop

Del Ray Artisans
Sun. Sep 15

Rhythmic Strokes Workshop

Del Ray Artisans
Sun. Sep 8

Transform a Childhood Board Game into a Book

Del Ray Artisans
Sat. Aug 31

Sketchcrawling in the Summer

Del Ray Artisans
Sun. Aug 25

Stained Glass Window Paintings

Del Ray Artisans
Sat. Aug 24

Basic Drawing (Adult, 5 Sessions)

The Art League
Fri. Oct 18

Basic Drawing (Adult, 9 Sessions)

The Art League
Sat. Sep 28

Basic Drawing (Adult, 9 Sessions)

The Art League
Sun. Sep 29

Basic Drawing (Adult, 9 Sessions)

The Art League
Mon. Sep 23

Basic Drawing (Adult, 9 Sessions)

The Art League
Tue. Sep 24

Basic Drawing (Adult, 9 Sessions)

The Art League
Wed. Sep 25

Basic Drawing (Adult, 9 Sessions)

The Art League
Thu. Sep 26

Basic Weaving (Adult, 9 Sessions)

The Art League
Sat. Sep 28

Night Photography (Adult, 9 Sessions)

The Art League
Thu. Sep 26

Acrylic Painting (Adults, 9 sessions)

Glen Echo Park
Thu. Sep 26

Acrylic Painting (Adults, 9 sessions)

Glen Echo Park
Sat. Sep 28

Anatomical Drawing (Adults, 9 sessions)

Glen Echo Park
Wed. Sep 18

Basic Drawing 1 (Adults, 10 sessions)

Glen Echo Park
Sun. Sep 15

Basic Painting (Adults, 8 sessions)

Glen Echo Park
Tue. Sep 17

Dive Into Studio 2 (Adults, 6 sessions)

Glen Echo Park
Sun. Sep 8

Drawing II (Adults, 10 sessions)

Glen Echo Park
Sun. Sep 15

iPad Art Workshop (Adults, 1 session)

Glen Echo Park
Sat. Oct 5

Pastel Painting (Adults, 9 sessions)

Glen Echo Park
Mon. Sep 16

Plein-Air Watercolor (Adults, 7 sessions)

Glen Echo Park
Fri. Sep 27

Printmaking (Adults, 10 sessions)

Glen Echo Park
Thu. Sep 19

Relief Printmaking (Adults, 8 sessions)

Glen Echo Park
Wed. Sep 18

Portrait Painting (Adults, 9 sessions)

Glen Echo Park
Tue. Sep 24

Beginning Drawing (Adults, 9 sessions)

Glen Echo Park
Fri. Sep 20

Beginning Painting (Adults, 10 sessions)

Glen Echo Park
Thu. Sep 19

Creative Watercolor (Adults, 8 sessions)

Glen Echo Park
Wed. Sep 18

Flowing Watercolor (Adults, 10 sessions)

Glen Echo Park
Wed. Sep 18

Flowing Watercolor (Adults, 10 sessions)

Glen Echo Park
Wed. Sep 18

Plein-Air Oils (Adults, 7 sessions)

Glen Echo Park
Tue. Sep 24

Drawing Studio (Adults, 7 weeks)

Capitol Hill Arts Workshop (CHAW)
Tue. Sep 3

Fundamentals of Drawing (Adults, 7 weeks)

Capitol Hill Arts Workshop (CHAW)
Wed. Sep 4

Illustration Workshop (Adults, 3 weeks)

Capitol Hill Arts Workshop (CHAW)
Wed. Oct 23

Life Drawing Session I (Adults, 6 weeks)

Capitol Hill Arts Workshop (CHAW)
Thu. Sep 12

Life Drawing Session II (Adults, 6 weeks)

Capitol Hill Arts Workshop (CHAW)
Thu. Oct 24

Painting in Acrylics (Adults, 11 weeks)

Capitol Hill Arts Workshop (CHAW)
Mon. Sep 9

Shades and Light Workshop (Adults, 3 weeks)

Capitol Hill Arts Workshop (CHAW)
Tue. Oct 22

Ceramics II - Intermediate (Adults, 6 weeks)

Capitol Hill Arts Workshop (CHAW)
Thu. Oct 24

Ceramics II/III - Advanced (Adults, 10 weeks)

Capitol Hill Arts Workshop (CHAW)
Mon. Sep 9

Plaster Mold-Making (Adults, 3 weeks)

Capitol Hill Arts Workshop (CHAW)
Thu. Oct 3

Ongoing Events

Working from the Figure (Adults, Drop-in class)

Capitol Hill Arts Workshop (CHAW)
Thru Dec. 31
A program ofCultureCapital Sponsors
HumanitiesDC Arlington Arts DCCAH Parks & Recreation M-N CPPC