Free Events: Family Events

On a budget and looking for something to do with the kids? Find free activities to do with them including concerts, performances and hands-on activities.

49 performances · 3 ongoing events

change your search


Performances

Summerbration Fun Brunch: Rocknoceros

Reston Station
Sat. Aug 24

Mad Science of DC at Lubber Run Amphitheater

Lubber Run Amphitheater
Sun. Sep 8

The Great Zucchini at Lubber Run Amphitheater

Lubber Run Amphitheater
Sun. Sep 15

Fall Plant Sale and Picnic

Tudor Place Historic House and Garden
Sun. Sep 29

Engineering 101

College Park Aviation Museum
Sep. 21, 2019 – Jan. 19, 2020

NSO Orchestra: Labor Day Capitol Concert 2019

West Lawn US Capitol
Sun. Sep 1

Hill Center’s Annual Family Day + Concert

Hill Center at the Old Naval Hospital
Sun. Sep 29

Lake Anne Jazz and Blues Festival

Lake Anne Plaza
Sat. Aug 31

Oktoberfest

Arts Barn
Sun. Oct 13

Migration and Displacement Themed Story Time

Smithsonian National Postal Museum
Aug. 19 – 26

Signature Theatre's Open House

Signature Theatre
Sun. Aug 18

Mi Casa, Su Casa: A Migration Celebration

College Park Aviation Museum
Sat. Sep 21

Free Community Day: September

National Museum of Women in the Arts
Sun. Sep 1

Pokeman: Detective Pikachu

Greenbelt Community Center
Tue. Aug 20

Family Day at the AU Museum

American University Museum at the Katzen Arts Center
Sat. Oct 19

Young Portrait Explorers: Maurice Sendak

Smithsonian National Portrait Gallery
Mon. Aug 26

Portrait Story Days: Juliette Gordon Low

Smithsonian National Portrait Gallery
Sat. Aug 31

Portrait Story Days: Charles Lindbergh

Smithsonian National Portrait Gallery
Aug. 24 & 25

Community Open House

Round House Theatre
Sat. Aug 24

LOC National Book Festival: R.J. Palacio, Children's Purple Stage

Walter E. Washington Convention Center
Sat. Aug 31

LOC National Book Festival: Conversation: Finding Their Voices, Teens

Walter E. Washington Convention Center
Sat. Aug 31

Young Portrait Explorers: Celia Cruz

Smithsonian National Portrait Gallery
Sep. 9 & 23

Morning with the Girl Scouts

Smithsonian National Portrait Gallery
Sat. Nov 23

¡Muévete! Hispanic Heritage Month Community Day

Robert and Arlene Kogod Courtyard
Sat. Sep 28

Young Portrait Explorers: Frida Kahlo

Smithsonian National Portrait Gallery
Oct. 13 & 28

Young Portrait Explorers: American Indian Heritage Month

Smithsonian National Portrait Gallery
Nov. 18 & 25

Museum Day

National Museum of Women in the Arts
Sat. Sep 21

Free Community Day: October

National Museum of Women in the Arts
Sun. Oct 6

Free Community Day: November

National Museum of Women in the Arts
Sun. Nov 3

Free Community Day: December

National Museum of Women in the Arts
Sun. Dec 1

Young Learners Tour: Animal Adventure

National Museum of Women in the Arts
Sat. Oct 19

Young Learners Program: Read for the Record 2019

National Museum of Women in the Arts
Thu. Nov 7

Young Learners Tour: Spotting Shapes and Looking for Lines

National Museum of Women in the Arts
Sat. Dec 14

Young Learners Tour: Color-Full Fun

National Museum of Women in the Arts
Sat. Feb 15, 2020

Fiesta de los Reyes Magos (Three Kings Day)

GALA Hispanic Theatre
Sun. Jan 5, 2020

Flamenco en Familia

GALA Hispanic Theatre
Sat. Nov 9

SCHOOL'S OUT!: Spider-Man: Into the Spider Verse

Greenbelt Community Center
Tue. Aug 27

Storytime On Screen

Greenbelt Community Center
Mon. Aug 26

Mini Makers Book Cover Edition

The Art League
Wed. Aug 21

Project ChArma

Dance Place
Thu. Sep 26

Shake Up Your Saturday: I Take My Leave

Folger Theatre
Sat. Dec 7

Open Studio

Smithsonian National Portrait Gallery
Sep. 6 – 27

Ongoing Events

Story Time in our Explore! Family Space

Smithsonian National Portrait Gallery
Tue, Wed, Thu & Fri

Day of the Dead Festival

Smithsonian National Museum of the American Indian
Nov. 1 – 3

Installation of the Treaty of Fort Stanwix, 1784

Smithsonian National Museum of the American Indian
Oct. 17, 2019 – Apr. 15, 2020
A program ofCultureCapital Sponsors
HumanitiesDC Arlington Arts DCCAH Parks & Recreation M-N CPPC