Photo by Jeffrey Langford

Concert: Peter Vinograde J. S. Bach’s Seven Keyboard Toccatas

Sun Mar 10, 3:30pm
Presented by: National Gallery of Art
Add to favorites
Official website

Bach’s Seven Keyboard Toccatas are youthful, improvisatory, virtuoso works, composed after Bach traveled on foot for ten days to hear Dieterich Buxtehude—perhaps the greatest organist of all time. The influence of Buxtehude’s extravagant and unrestrained technique can clearly be heard in the works, which present a formidable challenge to the modern-day performer.

An outstanding interpreter of J. S. Bach and contemporary composers, pianist Peter Vinograde regularly tours North America and Asia, with a recent world premiere in New York City of Michael Matthews’s De Reflejo a Fulgor for piano and digital sound. He first performed at the National Gallery in 1987.

Dates & Times

Museums Music Free Events Museums: Music Music: Classical Free Events: Music

Advanced Search
Search by name, range of dates, type, and category
Get The Arts!
Subscribe to CultureCapital
Looking for things to do
Presidents Day Weekend
Start here for 50+ Events
42°F   42°F   32°F
Plan Your Visit

National Gallery of Art

401 Constitution Avenue, NW
Washington, DC 20565
A program ofCultureCapital Sponsors